Accelerate is a new infrastructure, not a curriculum, assisting higher education institutions to more effectively work with non-traditional students and to prepare them for jobs.  Designed around the needs of both students and northern New Mexico’s employers, students enrolled in the Accelerate program while in college work with a dedicated Career Technical Advisor and participate in career readiness training and workshops throughout the academic year.

Workshop topics vary by participating college.  This year’s topics range from networking, résumé writing, cover letters, and interviewing, to dos and don’ts of social media,  hiring and expectations, and leadership and communication skills.  The October – December 2015 Workshop Schedule is as follows:

 Luna Community College

  • Friday, 10/16/15          Tips on Note Taking/Test Anxiety/Teambuilding Workshop
  • Friday, 11/6/15             Financial Planning/Money Management Workshop
  • Friday, 11/13/15           Customer Service/Soft Skills/Leadership Workshop
  • Friday, 11/20/15           Grants/Scholarship/College Admission/College Transfer Workshop

 University of New Mexico – Los Alamos

  • Monday, 10/05/2015    Resumes
  • Monday, 10/19/2015    Cover Letters
  • Monday, 11/09/2015    Networking
  • Monday, 11/06/2015    Interviewing
  • Monday, 11/30/2015    Professionalism/Soft Skills/Attire

 Northern New Mexico College

  • Friday, 09/25/2015        Assertive Job Search (Informational Interviews)
  • Monday, 10/19/2015     Resumes that Excite Employers
  • Friday, 10/30/2015         Professional Networking on LinkedIn
  • Monday, 11/09/2015     How to Conduct a Job Search
  • Monday, 11/16/2015     How to Market Yourself in a Cover Letter
  • Friday, 01/22/2016         Developing the Soft Skills to Keep a Job
  • Monday, 01/25/2016     Interviewing to Win the Job
  • Friday, 02/12/2015         Professional Readiness Event

 New Mexico Highlands University

  • Friday, 10/16/2015          Career Fair Success Workshops (Must also attend the Career Fair)
  • Thursday, 10/22/2015    Career Fair Success Workshops (Must also attend the Career Fair)
  • Monday, 10/26/2015      Career Fair Success Workshops (Must also attend the Career Fair)
  • Wednes, 11/04/2015       Fall Career Fair
  • Week of 11/9/2015           Resume Writing
  • Week of 11/16                   Cover Letters
  • Week of 11/30                   Elevator Pitches and Soft Skills
  • Week of 01/19                   Interviewing Skills
  • Week of 01/25                   Refresher for Professional Readiness
  • Week of 02/01                   Refresher for Professional Readiness

 Santa Fe Community College

  • Tuesday, 11/10/2015        LinkedIn
  • Tuesday, 11/17/2015        Elevator Pitch
  • December 2016 (TBD)       Resume Building
  • January 2016 (TBD)            Interviewing

 

Share The Story

About the author